Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Jewish Alliance for Women in Science

Helping Women Enter Careers Related to Science and Medicine

JAWS Highlighted Feature

Visit Mentors' Round Table to read our interviews of women in the fields of science and health. These are women of varying levels of experience and backgrounds, brought to the table to answer your questions about everything from work-life balance to financial management. Read on, be inspired, and leave them (and us!) a comment!

Newest Interviews: Ecologist, MD Student 1 (2nd year) , MD Student 2 (2nd year) , Optometry Student and Speech Pathologist

Check back soon! More to come!

Recent Photos

JAWS Partner Sites

PhD Student of Cell Biology

Obtaining a PhD can be a long process, but it can open up many interesting career paths. Below please find an interview with a 3rd year female, Orthodox, PhD student. We hope her responses help you get a better feeling for what life as a PhD student is like. Visit our Research Scientist/PhD career page to learn more about becoming a research scientist.

Interview with a PhD Student (Cell Biology)

What is your career?

I am a 3rd year PhD student in cell biology.

How did you choose your career?

I enjoyed science research as an undergrad.


Were there any obstacles you had to face in your training or later career?


Experiments don't always work as you would like and getting data takes a long time


Have there been any problems in your work life or training that have arisen because of your religion?


I've had to miss some class for Shabbos and Yom Tov (Jewish holidays) but professors are usually understanding.

What do you like best about your career? What do you like least?

Flexibility. You can make your own schedule and come up with experiments to answer questions that interest you.


Are you married?


Yes.

Do you have children, how many?


Yes, 2.

How do you balance family and work life?

Live close to work, have a supportive husband, a great nanny, and an understanding P.I. (Principle Investigator, the "boss" so to speak).


What does your spouse think about your career?


He is very supportive.


What does your family think about your career?

They are also supportive.

How do/did you handle the financial stress of training?


We try to save money and look for good deals.


Are things turning out the way you planned or are they different?

More or less how I planned.

Do you have any advice for students aspiring to be where you are?


Make sure that you really like research before starting out otherwise it will be a long and excruciating 5 years. I enjoyed science research as an undergraduate. This was key.

Comments on PhD Student (Cell Biology)

0